Xbox Live Gold Free Weekend in US, Canada, Latin America, Japan

Try Xbox Live Gold for free until Monday.

by on 20th Apr, 2013

This weekend, Xbox 360 owners in the US, Canada, Latin America, and Japan can get access to Xbox Live Gold for free. Microsoft unlocked the service yesterday (Friday, April 19) at 10am ET (7am PT) and it'll become locked down again at 1pm ET (10am PT) on Monday, April 22.

Along with the announcement, Major Nelson has some recommendations for what those who make use of the weekend offer to try out the service should check out:

  • “Hemlock Grove” – the new Netflix original series premieres on Friday, with the full run of episodes. It’s the perfect weekend for a marathon viewing.

  • Xbox Tournaments with Virgin Gaming – try out a free-to-enter tournament with “EA SPORTS™ FIFA 13,” “NBA 2K13,” “EA SPORTS™ Madden NFL 13” and “EA SPORTS™ NHL® 13.”

  • “Call of Duty Black Ops II” – with weapons double XP for a limited time.

  • “Borderlands 2” – Try out this special Golden Key Code: KTW3T-ZXXS5-JBSJF-5FJT3-6TB9X
    To redeem, at the Borderlands 2 Main Menu, select Extras, then SHiFT Code. Hurry though, this will only be available throughout the Xbox Live Gold Unlock weekend. See Gearbox for assistance.

  • “Assassin’s Creed 3” and “Far Cry 3” – with double XP for a limited time

The offer does not include access to Deal of the Week or early access to demos; for those, you'll have to actually pay for Xbox Live Gold.

Anyone not a Gold member yet? Will you take advantage of this offer to give it a try?

Stories from around the web